Working Out Without Working Out?


Sometimes it’s not necessary to plan out a typical workout session to get your heart pumping. Sometimes participating in necessary activities around the house can be almost as labour intensive as hitting the gym. Don’t get me wrong, if I had the choice of a gym session or a home workout session, I will always choose the gym. For me, I remain more focused when I am in the gym environment. However, if an ice storm hits your city which shuts down the power and closes down your gym, sometimes you just don’t have an option.
As I mentioned in yesterday’s post, my city was hit with a monster of an ice storm. When this happens, you may have to find alternate ways of executing your fitness routine. In my case, I decided to have a little bit of fun with it. I played with my dog on the ice rink which was formerly known as my back yard. Have you ever laughed so hard that you feel like you have just done 100 sit ups? Nothing will give your abs a greater workout than laughing at your dog as he attempts to balance on an icy surface while chasing after a ball. It’s like watching a t-rex trying to make a bed. It just doesn’t work very well.

image

After I got bored of that, I decided to tackle a more physical project. There was a large tree in my backyard that decided to collapse and it was my mission to dominate it. A little bit of ice had made half of the branches break off …so clearly it doesn’t lift. This provided about an hour of entertainment for me. I felt like a child as I climbed the tree and hacked off any stray braches. I did not happen to have an axe or a chainsaw so I ended up trying to remove branches with some sort of pickaxe type tool. Not effective at trimming branches but definitely good for working up a sweat. Once I borrowed a tree trimmer, things became a little bit easier.

After I had drained all of the energy from my dog and I had conquered the frozen tree, I got a message from one of my gym friends stating that the gym is now open. Good thing too because it’s leg day and who knows how many trees I would have had to climb to get a good glute burn. I now have to hit the gym! Unfortunately, it is not always possible to get to the gym. As long as you remain dedicated, you can perform a complete workout within the confines of your own house. My favourite method of working out at home is actually doing workout videos. I find Jillian Michaels DVDs to be the greatest at home sweat producing tool. Just be mindful that if people walk by and see you doing hip thrusts in the middle of the living room, they may get the wrong impression.

Leave a Reply

