Do It (all?) Yourself

You know that old saying “If you want something done right, do it yourself”? Perhaps there is some merit to that statement.

For my first competition, I did my own tan, makeup and hair all because I was too cheap to invest. For those of you on a budget, I will let you know that it can be done but I think in the future I will invest in professional services. Upon reflection, it does seem strange to pay someone to see you naked and paint every inch of your body in a nice golden bronze. That sounds more like a fetish. Maybe my spray tan lady should pay me. Have you heard of jack of all trades, master of none? I’ll give myself some credit and say that I am a master of some, but I will put my ego aside for now and admit that I am not the grand expert of all things. Some things you should really just leave to the experts.

When it comes to bodybuilding and eating, there are really no other options but to do it yourself. You have to create your own homemade meals because there are just too many additives or contraband ingredients in either restaurant foods or premade store bought meals.

The stereotypical bodybuilder meal is chicken and broccoli and I’m not talking about fried chicken and broccoli bathed in butter. I’m talking baked plain chicken breast and steamed plain broccoli. Day after day, this starts to be about as appetizing as cardboard with a side of mould. When you have a strict meal plan, you really have to get creative and come up with your own recipes so you don’t fall into a chicken/broccoli coma.

Unfortunately, sometimes the homemade foods which will typically lack sugar, butter, and oil may start to taste like dog food. I have made food before and when shared with others, I got the response, “It tastes healthy”. Whenever someone says “It tastes healthy” you know they actually mean that it tastes like a field of grass. If you make a particularly healthy recipe, it may even end up tasting like a herd of cows have recently visited said grassy patch. There is a delicate balance between making something that tastes like a cow pie and making something that will make you look like the cow it came from.

I have had to experiment with different combinations of ingredients to make my own recipes and tailor them to fit with my personal preferences. There are two recipes I came up with that I am particularly in love with. One is my homemade lean chicken burgers and the other is my homemade granola. The granola recipe was definitely a labour of love. I failed about 3 times before I got the recipe just right. Not enough moisture; tastes like feet; is this safe for human consumption? These are some of the thoughts that come to mind when thinking of my failed batches. In the end, it was worth it because my granola is my go to snack and keeps my sweet cravings at bay.

Whatever it is, in this sport you almost learn to do it yourself out of necessity. If I don’t cook healthy meals for myself, I will not have a competition ready body. If I don’t have money for a posing coach, I will learn to pose from YouTube. You have to make sure that you do your research. Research is the key to success. If you don’t do your research, you will just have to pay someone who has already done their research. Just make sure that you don’t stay in the research stage, because if you never put it into practice, what good is it?

Leave a Reply

