Will You Be My…Buddy?

It’s not the easiest task in the world to make new friends as an adult. This is especially true when trying to find a training buddy who also competes and goes to your gym. It’s like trying to find that buff needle in a haystack. So when you do spot someone else who has the look of a fellow competitor, nut up and say something. Sometimes you have to be willing to put yourself out there to get what you want.

In a sense, it is similar to starting a new romantic relationship. The first point of contact may seem forced and may come off as being too forward. You timidly ask for that persons contact information which could seem too soon for someone you just met.
You meet up for a workout session and are not quite sure how to proceed because you are so used to doing workouts on your own. Things fall into place and you both seemingly enjoy the session. You make those hypothetical plans saying “we should do this again”. You say your goodbyes and hope that she enjoyed the training session as much as you. You meet up a few more times and get to know each other a little better. Sometimes your schedules don’t always match up and when you don’t hear from them for a little while you question whether you did something wrong and they lost interest. You realize that perhaps you are over thinking things and tell yourself to calm the F down. Eventually you come to the point where you feel very comfortable with the person and you no longer have the new relationship jitters. You have made a new friend!

There was a girl who I noticed at my gym some time ago. She had caught my attention several times because she had such an amazing back. Her wide and presumably strong back was noticeable atop her small frame. Now, for all of you who are not used to the world of competing, you probably read my comment and thought how strange that I am admiring another girl’s back of all things. When you observe something in someone else and you have a true appreciation for how hard it is to achieve, you step back and take notice. In a way, her back was an inspiration to me. You see, when I started my journey, my back was terrible. No visible musculature, no definition, and far from a competition winning back. It took me a long time to get my back up to par. I would say it’s a toss up between my back and my hamstrings as to the most time consuming muscle group for me to develop. Well, I just had to talk to this girl. I learned that she also competes and that we have similar aspirations in the fitness world. I found a fitness friend. Through our training together we have been able to share stories, and vent about our nutrition plans and discuss our problem areas. Sometimes those stubborn muscle groups just won’t listen to reason. My new training buddy struggles with her shoulder development. Life lesson: you can have the most amazing body but you will still find things which you wish to improve on. Always strive for self improvement but at the same time be proud of your accomplishments.

I want to say thank you to my gym buddy for all of the support and encouragement. She is a tiny little thing but she is physically the strongest woman I know. She squatted a person once! Thank you for everything and I can’t wait to see us shine on the stage this year. Literally we will shine or perhaps blind someone because of all of the bling on our competition suits.

2 thoughts on “Will You Be My…Buddy?

    • Thanks for reading! She puts me to shame with how many pull ups she can do. I think that’s where she gets her back haha.
      I enjoyed reading your post too! Keep up the good work 🙂

      Christina

Leave a Reply

