What if you stop loving your love?

The gym is my love. I love the gym so much that it mentally pains me when I think about not being able to attend my regular scheduled workouts. However, as the old cliché line goes, “I love you, but I’m not in love with you.” At what point did the love die? How did it happen? How do I rekindle the love that we once had?

At some point, I lost my love of the workout and the gym simply became something that I had to do rather than something I wanted to do. I used to have favorite gym days. I remember shoulder day being a frequent favorite of mine, back day as well and even sometimes leg day. Chest and triceps day never really caught on as a fave, but I still tolerated it. Well, now I don’t have a favorite day. They have all just become monotonous and almost a chore. Don’t get me wrong, I still enjoy the gym, but some of the love has faded. I still would kick my own ass if I missed a gym day and I have no intention of quitting. However, I need to figure out what died and how do I bring the spark back.

I used to workout because I enjoyed it and it just so happened that I was working towards a goal at the same time. That goal being to get the competition ready body. But lately, I feel as though I work out simply to be ready for a contest and there is little gratification. Yes, the body is in contest shape now and looks great and that should be gratification enough but maybe I have become so accustomed to it that I now take it for granted. The thing is that there are months in between contests so it takes so long to receive the public gratification for your efforts that you seek when you sign up for these shows. It may be that I no longer workout to look a certain way in my everyday life, rather I workout to win a contest. Therefore, it seems that until I receive my first place trophies, I will not be happy. Woe is me. We can never just be content with ourselves, can we?

Perhaps absence makes the heart grow fonder. I was speaking about my gym love loss with my father recently and he suggested that it might be a good idea to take a week off from the gym and eating healthy the week following my contest. It will absolutely kill me to not workout and to eat terrible food but maybe that is just what I need to get the spark back.

Finding motivation can be tough. My motivations have changed wildly since I first started this journey. Believe it or not, my initial motivation for joining my current gym was to mingle with hot gym dudes. Yes, I was that girl…I am so glad that I have moved on from that. Although, I still do enjoy wearing the skin-tight workout clothes and  pretending not to notice all of the stares. Whatever the motivation may be, I suggest latching on to it and running with it for as long as you can. When that motivation no longer motivates you, move on to a new one. This is of course easier said than done. My motivation of competing in shows continues to push me but I need to add something else in there to inject the love back in. When I discover the magic formula, I will report back to you. Until then, we have a contest in two and a half weeks! So if that isn’t enough to get me excited, I don’t know what will.

One thought on “What if you stop loving your love?

Leave a Reply

