Boxing as viewed by a bodybuilder…

Sometimes experiencing new things can yield positive or negative feelings. However if one never attempts to experience anything new, it is a true waste of the intellectual curiosity we as human beings have. My boyfriend and I went to a professional boxing match this past weekend and it was a first time for the both of us. I’ll be honest and admit that I wasn’t sure if I would enjoy it but I was looking forward to experiencing this new life event. I am not usually a fan of violence but I wanted to witness it simply to add it to my resume of life. This is similar to the emotions that I felt when I saw a bullfight in Spain a few years ago. I knew that they would kill the bull at the end and I wasn’t particularly excited for the brutality of the match, and yet I wanted to experience this cultural event. Years later, I am still unsure whether I enjoyed it but I am very glad that I attended. But I digress. I want to tell you about my experience at the boxing match and how my fitness competitions have skewed my view of the world.

For the boxing match, the uniform is shorts, shoes, gloves. They do not wear shirts. Anytime I am able to witness athletes without clothing, my mind goes into muscle analysis mode. I found myself critiquing their physiques as if they were competing in a bodybuilding event. His lats are better than his, he has no deltoids, where are his pecs? Apparently boxers are supposed to be somewhat lean and not overly developed in the muscle department and I got schooled when I voiced my opinions. Supposedly the smaller the boxer, the quicker they can move or something of that nature. I don’t know boxing, I know bodybuilding.

Something did bother me quite a bit at the match….so much paleness. The last time I saw so many pale people without shirts on was when I watched the movie Twilight. The sweat dripping off of the pale boxers was even reminiscent of the sparkly skin of the vampires in that movie. Holy moly, I thought I might go blind. Perhaps, my brain is no longer wired correctly. Everything I witness, I seem to compare to my fitness shows. If someone that pale even attempted to step on my stage, they would probably burn to a crisp after the stage lights hit them.

When the main event came on, the boxers were slightly more bulky to my delight. I heard some audience members behind me say, “He is super jacked.”… At that moment, I had no words. I suppose jacked is a relative term because clearly this spectator has never been to a fitness facility in their life. Regardless, these boxers did have more muscles than the rest of the boxers. The thing with boxing is that it is judged based on a subjective point system. Yes, sometimes it is obvious to tell who will win a match, but unless someone is knocked out, the decision is left up to the judges. This slightly reminded me of the judging at a bodybuilding competition.

Some audience members near us were clearly close family or friends of one of the competitors. The most vocal supporter was a rather large woman with a rather large voice that came in at quite a high decibel. I wouldn’t have minded the loud chants if she wasn’t so damn obnoxious. Perhaps she could benefit from expending her energy on different things, like any form of physical activity, for example. Oh, now I’m being rude. I should stop there before the haters jump on me. I meant it only as a friendly suggestion. I am just promoting heart health and diabetes prevention after all.

Leave a Reply

