Stick with what you are good at?

Hello friends!

So the show on May 10th was the biggest show that I have ever been in. It was almost too big. The pre-judging took about 7 hours with the bikini girls right at the end. Not only was it tiresome for me to wait around all day but I felt bad for my entourage that came out to support me. They had to wait around for what could be an entire work day for some people. It just seemed that perhaps things could have been organized differently. But then again, I don’t want to shit too much on the show because on the off chance that someone from the federation reads this blog, I don’t want to find myself face to face with a masked bodybuilder who’s sole mission is to silence me… 

There was what seemed like a million bikini girls competing in each hight class. We definitely out numbered any other category, by far. So for any single guys out there, if you are trolling for some girls in the best shape of their life, it’s not a bad place to look. Although some of these ladies will be much stronger than you so keep it classy, gentlemen. There were 4 height classes in bikini and in my height class, there were 19 girls. I got second call out which I was ok with. Of course I wanted to place top 5 but I have learned that this organization is very wishy washy with their placings, so I have come to accept their interesting judging choices. Again, I found judging to be very inconsistant. In my height class, first place had some abs on her but second place didn’t have much visible musculature. I just don’t know how you can reward one body and reward another that looks completely diffent. It seems that they are picking people on a whim rather than based on a certain specific body type that they want. It makes it very difficult as a competitior to know what they want because you are basically taking a shot in the dark. I heard through the grape vine that the girl in the tall height class missed out on first place because her hair was slightly more frizzy than the other girl’s. If this is the case, then this is not the orginization for me. I hope this orginization enjoyed sucking some money from me because that is the last dime I spend on one of their shows. Damn, those are some fighting words. With that said, I better not go back to them because if they read that, then there is definitely no chance of me winning. What am I saying? They never even gave me top 5 so I think it is safe to say that I am just not what they are looking for.

So should I stick with what I am good at? The first organization I tried seemed to respond to my physique. I took home second place twice with that one. And as a spectator, that orginization is much more predictable. You know why? Because they judge based on a certain criteria and the winner is chosen based on a specific physique type. What I have leared from is orginization is that they love a well developed back and some nice round delts. If you also have some quad/ham definition, basically take home the trophy now. I started competing because I wanted my phyqisue to be judged. If I had wanted to enter a beauty pagent, I would have done so. It seems that there are some blurred lines in bikini. With that said, I will return to the first orginization. They have a show in July and I may decide to do it. I am not 100% sure yet because I am enjoying pizza way too much but the option is there.

Perhaps it is enough to be happy with my body and not have other reward me with trophies. I couldn’t be happier with myself so at the end of the day, do I need to win competitions? I guess maybe I will do it until I no longer have a love for it. Constant rejection may erode that love sooner than later but despite all of that, not once have my poor placings ever caused me to be self conscious about what I bring to the stage. I guess that’s winning.

The picture above is of the show on May 10th. I am in the middle showing way too much sass for my own good. The girl on the left took home first place and the girl on the right took home 2nd. Interesting.

One thought on “Stick with what you are good at?

Leave a Reply

