Get Out Of My Head, Literally

What is better than some amazing beats to accompany an intense workout? I struggle to get though my workouts if I don’t have adequate electronic dance music destroying my eardrums. It can allow you to get lost in the moment to the point where you are able to distract yourself from the intense glute burn that you are subjecting yourself to.

Ever since I began torturing myself with exercise, I have been utilizing frugal methods of musical distraction. I don my hand-me-down ear buds, plug them into my outdated i-pod and tuck said i-pod in between my skin and my pants. Let it be known that if you want to increase the longevity of your musical device, don’t tuck it anywhere against your skin. Sweat has drowned my i-pod to the point where it is hit and miss as to whether it will obey my commands. But this isn’t a post about sweat drenched i-pods.

Ear buds are the bane of my existence. I must have some oddly shaped ear canals because I have never been able to find a comfortable pair which will stay put. This has led me to shove these ridiculous things so far into my ears that I can feel them tickling my brain. Other than the fact that I have clogged them up with earwax because they are so embedded into my head, I face a serious health risk everytime I endeavour to listen to my music. What health risk you ask? Early onset deafness? Wrongo! I fear something much more serious. The official medical term is known as Get-the-hell-out-of-my-head-itis. Imagine my utter delight when something catches on my earphone cord and dislodges the earbud from my head. How annoying. But wait…something is not quite right. I bring my hand to my ear and realize that the squishy bit on the end of the ear bud is embedded into my head. If it was transparent, maybe it wouldn’t be so embarrassing and I could play it off like nothing happened. No such luck. This ear bud cap is neon yellow. I can’t very well attempt to fish this thing out of my ear on the gym floor without looking like I belong on the short bus. So instead, I run to the change room and aggressively pick at my ear like a dog digging for a bone. Finally, I achieve success, but I am not left unscathed. I fear any future attempts to reinsert the devil’s ear buds will result in an even deadlier outcome. Time for change.

Thank God that those monstrous over the head earphones have come back in style. I am not usually one to jump on the bandwagon but for the sake of preventing another bout of Get-the-hell-out-of-my-head-itis, I decided to partake in the fad. I got myself a trendy white pair, bought an armband, updated my playlist (which hasn’t been done in over a year) and proceeded to have a fantastic workout. Change is good, my friends. Simply making a few changes to my musical workout experience enabled me to have a new lease on my workout. Maybe this is just what the doctor ordered. So, the long winded moral of the story of my experience with Get-the-hell-out-of-my-head-itis, is that change is good. That is all.

Leave a Reply

